Jun 30, 2017 04:25 PM EST

Whoopi Goldberg Among New Academy Board of Governors

Whoopi Goldberg Among New Academy Board of Governors
The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences have held their annual Board of Governors Election and the results are in.  New members include Whoopi Goldberg (Actors Branch), Kimberly Peirce (Directors Branch) and Larry Karaszewski (Writers Branch).

Goldberg joins eight other women on the Board and beating out notable actors Geena Davis, Edward James Olmos and Rita Wilson for the spot. 

Newly elected board members are:
Whoopi Goldberg, Actors Branch
Mandy Walker, Cinematographers Branch
Isis Mussenden, Costume Designers Branch
Wynn P. Thomas, Designers Branch
Kimberly Peirce, Directors Branch
David Linde, Executives Branch
Christina Kounelias, Public Relations Branch
Thomas R. Sito, Short Films and Feature Animation Branch
Teri E. Dorman, Sound Branch
Larry Karaszewski, Writers Branch

Incumbent members of the board are:

Lora Kennedy, Casting Directors Branch
Kate Amend, Documentary Branch
Michael Tronick, Film Editors Branch
Kathryn L. Blondell, Makeup Artists and Hairstylists Branch
Charles Bernstein, Music Branch
Albert Berger, Producers Branch

Richard Edlund, Visual Effects Branch, has returned to the board after a hiatus.

Next month, the new Academy President will be elected. Cheryl Boone Isaacs will be ending her four-year run in the position.

*Photo Credit: The Inquisitor
Share this:

comments powered by Disqus

Today's iTunes Digital HD Deals

Latest Reviews


Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.