Theatrical, Streaming, Physical Media Reviews

Here at FlickDirect, our goal is to provide up-to-date reviews on theatrical, home entertainment, and television series. Check out the reviews of upcoming films or programming, and even our take on the classsics.

Shooter: The Complete First Season
Allison Rose | Jul 29, 2017
Unfortunately for Shooter, the drama is lack luster and doesn’t really offer up the level of suspense and tension that it should.
Full Review | Grade: C
Gifted
Allison Rose | Jul 29, 2017
Family drama usually makes for a good script and while Gifted is no exception, the cast is really what gives the movie its bite. If you like a good, heartfelt story, this is worth watching.
Full Review | Grade: B
The Boss Baby
Allison Rose | Jul 27, 2017
Baldwin is perfect as the voice of the Boss Baby.  His deep vocal tones are authoritative and commanding, which make Boss Baby believable.  Kudrow and Kimmel have a soothing quality to their voices that make them great choices for the parents.
Full Review | Grade: C
Atomic Blonde
Allison Rose | Jul 26, 2017
While I expected one of the plot twists in the film (making it somewhat predictable), I didn’t see a second one that blindsided me at the end of the film and made for a nice surprise.  Atomic Blonde had good flow and pacing and just the right amount of action so it didn’t go over the top.
Full Review | Grade: B
Warlock Collection
Leonard Buccellato | Jul 25, 2017
I don’t know how many times I can say this but these Vestron Video releases are casting a spell on me
Full Review | Grade: B
Dunkirk
Allison Rose | Jul 18, 2017
Hans Zimmer’s score also added an additional element to the overall feel of Dunkirk and helped build the suspense and momentum throughout. The cinematography was exceptional with shots from above of a vast waterway and close up views of the beach, inside a ship, and the French shoreline.
Full Review | Grade: B
Resident Evil: Vendetta
Allison Rose | Jul 18, 2017
Fans of Resident Evil who enjoy the video game will love being enveloped once again in the game through this latest release.  The action, graphics and story are good enough to be included in the franchise.  And if you include yourself in that grouping then you should definitely invest in the 4K version.
Full Review | Grade: C
Buster's Mal Heart
Jennifer Broderick | Jul 17, 2017
Honestly my immediate first impression, I thought this was a strange movie but I stuck it out and was absolutely blown away by the storyline.  Buster was a caring character, one I became invested in because I wanted him to have his land, get away from his nasty and mean mother-in-law, and get a job on the day shift.
Full Review | Grade: B
Free Fire
Jennifer Broderick | Jul 17, 2017
Free Fire is about 90 minutes, which is long enough to provide a cohesive storyline without making the audience glance at their watch.  The film is an entertaining light action flick to add to your collection.
Full Review | Grade: B
Kong: Skull Island
Nathan M Rose | Jul 17, 2017
Hiddleston’s, Larson’s, Goodman’s, and castaway John C. Reilly’s (Wreck-It Ralph) performances help ground the film in our world while Jackson’s character’s  personal struggle with Kong echoes back to Captain Ahab and his “to-the-death” fight with the whale Moby Dick.
Full Review | Grade: B

Today's Digital HD DealsView All

Safety Not Guaranteed
Safety Not Guaranteed
WAS: $14.99
NOW: $12.99
Stripes
Stripes
WAS: $14.99
NOW: $4.99
Jupiter Ascending
Jupiter Ascending
WAS: $14.99
NOW: $4.99

SPONSORED LINKS