Movie / Film Reviews

Here at FlickDirect, our goal is to provide up-to-date reviews on theatrical, home entertainment, and television series. Check out the reviews of upcoming films or programming, and even our take on the classsics.

The Big Sick
Allison Rose | Jul 07, 2017
The sincerity of the tale and the unexpected success of Nanjiani as the male lead make The Big Sick tantalizing and infectiously (pun intended) appealing.  In a world full of explosions and car chases, this movie offers something different and executes it nicely.
Full Review | Grade: A
Spider-Man: Homecoming
Allison Rose | Jun 29, 2017
With the young cast Spider-Man: Homecoming, it is certainly geared to appeal to a tween/teen audience... Perhaps Marvel is finally trying to lighten things up a bit and if so, this was a good start and paves the way to an already announced sequel.
Full Review | Grade: B
Despicable Me 3
Allison Rose | Jun 29, 2017
Despicable Me 3 has a lot going for it yet, somehow, it just doesn’t have the same feel as the first two films and drags a little.
Full Review | Grade: C
Rough Night
Allison Rose | Jun 15, 2017
In terms of a female-centered comedy, Rough Night gives it a good shot but just falls a little short. It has a great cast, but a lackluster script.
Full Review | Grade: C
Cars 3
Allison Rose | Jun 15, 2017
Better than the second film but not as good as the first, Cars 3 is still an uplifting story that will probably resonate with little kids.  It also gives us a new, female racecar to emulate in what is clearly the year of the female.
Full Review | Grade: C
The Mummy
Allison Rose | Jun 07, 2017
Dark is definitely the descriptive term I would use for The Mummy, as it is much less fun and campy than the 1999 version
Full Review | Grade: C
The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks
Allison Rose | Jun 05, 2017
Rose Byrne is terrific as Skloot, a somewhat naïve freelance writer determined to get the Lacks family to trust her enough to tell their story. However, the stand out is Winfrey herself as the emotionally, mentally and physically ill Deborah.
Full Review | Grade: B
Churchill
Allison Rose | Jun 01, 2017
Cox is well suited to playing this character (Churchill ) and though he is not the first, nor maybe the best, he does well to portray the iconic, beloved man during a time of supreme angst and sorrow in his life.
Full Review | Grade: B
Wonder Woman
Judith Raymer | Jun 01, 2017
Wonder Woman opens the door for exciting new adventures from a balanced, powerful hero that will, hopefully, continue to receive the consideration and storylines offered to counterparts outside of ensemble vehicles. And, the invisible jet! The invisible jet, too!
Full Review | Grade: A
Pirates of The Caribbean: Dead Men Tell No Tales
Judith Raymer | May 25, 2017
I recommend enduring the lengthy credit roll as there is a surprise with which you will be rewarded!  That said, two more mentions...Sir Paul McCartney appears ever so briefly as Jack’s Uncle Jack.  Brief, but brilliant.  Golshifteh Farahani is breathtaking.  
Full Review | Grade: A

Today's Digital HD DealsView All

Shoot 'Em Up
Shoot 'Em Up
WAS: $12.99
NOW: $9.99
We Are Your Friends
We Are Your Friends
WAS: $14.99
NOW: $6.99
The Goldfinch
The Goldfinch
WAS: $14.99
NOW: $9.99

SPONSORED LINKS